SA Physics Olympiad 2016

SAPhO (2016)


The South African Institute of Physics, SAIP, “The Voice of Physics in South Africa”, hosts the official South African Physics Olympiad, SAPhO. It is an SAIP project that is set and moderated by the SAPhO sub-committee of the Education Division of the SAIP, assisted by the SAIP Project Manager.


The primary aim of SAPhO is to identify, nurture and monitor young people in South Africa with an above average ability in Physics, and if successful, to try and assist them finding placement in SA’s Tertiary institutions.

The South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement, SAASTA, hosts the South African National Science Olympiad, SANYSO. There is a collaborative arrangement between the SAIP and SAASTA which enables SAPhO candidates to be selected from SANYSO. Additional candidates are selected from other Olympiads and competitions from around South Africa.

Selected candidates are invited to write SAPhO during South Africa’s National Science week. Entrance is free and the Olympiad consists of 50 Multiple Choice questions (answer and 4 detractors) to be answered in 90 minutes. SAPhO covers Physics of the CAPS curriculum and additional topics at a more challenging level than Gr 12 Physics.

The top three candidates will receive Gold, Silver or Bronze Certificates along with other prizes. Others, depending on their marks, will receive Merit Certificates, Honourable Mentions or Participation Certificates. The Gold winner will receive the SAIP Bronze Medal at the following year’s Conference Dinner.


Below are the results of the winners. The results of each school attached separately.

Winner:   C Strydom Hermanus High School             75%

Second:   A D Dhansay Diocesan College (Bishops)   73%

Third:      D B Broodryk Westerford High School        72%

The average mark for SAPhO 2016 was 46% and the range of marks was 75% - 16%


For the Press release report of the SAPhO2016 click here.


For more related information, reports or inquiries, please contact the Convener, Case Rijsdijk






Copyright © 2015 South African Institute of Physics. All rights reserved.