SA Physics Olympiad 2015

SAPhO (2015)

The first SAPhO was completed in August 2015. For the full report click here. For more pictures visit and Like our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/South-African-Institute-of-Physics-1660099704207118/ 

This year the SAIP has launched the South African Physics Olympiad, SAPhO, with the aim of identifying young South Africans with ability in Physics in the hope that these students will continue to study Physics at tertiary institutions and universities within South Africa

The value of this project is underlined by the fact that physics is a basic science that underpins the development of all other science, engineering and technology disciplines.  Physics is fundamental for study of areas such as the geological, agricultural, chemical, biological, and environmental sciences, astronomy, medical sciences and engineering which are subjects of substantial importance to technological development of any nation.

Using the results of the SA National Youth Science Olympiad, SANYSO, hosted by SAASTA, 60 learners from 26 schools were selected from the nearly 19 000 learners that wrote the SANYSO, to write the 50 question Multiple Choice SA Physics Olympiad, SAPhO, on 3 August, 2015.

The results and awards, announced on 18 August, 2015 were as:

Winner             L Geldenhuys              St John’s College, JHB.                 74%

Second            H Y Mathivha              Mbilwi Sec. School, Sibasa             70%

Third                K Spies                      St John’s College, JHB.                  62%

The average mark for SAPhO was 43% and the range of marks was 74% - 22%

The winner, L Geldenhuys, will receive a Gold Certificate, the SAIP Medal, R1 500 and will be presented with

his medal at the Annual SAIP Conference dinner in Cape Town on 8 July 2016.

Second place receives a Silver Certificate and R1 000

Third place receives a Bronze Certificate and R 500

Copyright © 2015 South African Institute of Physics. All rights reserved.